Not of Ourselves

Today’s reading is 2 Corinthians 3:5-7.

When I read scripture, I generally have one of several responses.  Sometimes, I’m challenged.  Sometimes, I’m comforted.  Sometimes, I’m confused.  Sometimes, like today, I want to pump my fist and yell “YEAH!”

In fact, the first part of this passage really speaks to my entire philosophy of being.  “Not that we are adequate in ourselves to consider anything as coming from ourselves, but our adequacy is from God.”

I do a lot of stuff.  I’m a wife, a mom, a woman, and a professional.  In all these areas, I’ve experienced wild degrees of success and failure.  During the course of this fairly brief life, I’ve received a lot of compliments.  These compliments, while always appreciated, have left me with a need to explain.  You see, there’s nothing that I’ve done that’s ever been done on my own.  It’s only ever been done with the confidence of having God at my back and the support and encouragement of those around me.    This passage says it perfectly.  I’m not adequate to accomplish any of it, but my adequacy comes from God.

