Be shepherded

The congregation of our church, Hanna’s Creek Christian Church, has been challenged to pray through the 23rd Psalm for a month.  While I’m generally not a big fan of challenges based on my long history of failing, I accidentally committed to this one.  I guess that’s what you get for not listening fully to what the pastor is saying.  Either way, it’s pretty hard to begrudge the words of David inspired by God as an opportunity to talk with God.  So, I’m not really complaining, just pointing out how I get in these situations.

So far, I’ve been pretty en pointe with the whole thing.  Having to drive 45 minutes to get to work and another 45 minutes to get home gives me plenty of time for prayer and it’s also helping me to remember those long ago memorized words.  I don’t suggest reading while driving.  Just saying.

Today, however, has excruciating.  I can’t think of another word.  There are people that think because I don’t lose it in certain situations that I’m not affected.  The truth is that the more stressful a situation, the more I internalize it.

So, Psalm 23 is my saving grace.

The LORD is my shepherd. [deep breath – determination and confidence]

I shall not want. [exhale – safety and peace]

He makes me lie down in green pastures. [deep breath]

He leads me beside still waters. [exhale – serenity and rest]

He restores my soul. [deep breath – healing and joy]

He leads me in paths of righteousness for His name’s sake. [exhale – surrender and trust]

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil for you are with me. [deep breath – power and courage]

Your rod and staff, they comfort me. [exhale…faith and hope]

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. [breathe…grace and mercy]

My cup overflows. [exhale….]

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life [breathe]

And I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever [exhale.  home.]

