The Perfect Student

I’ve been away to a conference that’s required most of my brain for a few days.  It was one of those “learn everything you can” deals for librarians.  Reading this passage reminded me that there are different types of learning librarians.  There are the ones that do and the ones that don’t.  I’ve often wondered why some do and some don’t.  It’s been obvious that intellectual capacity isn’t the key.  Then, I read this passage and was blown away by its simplicity.

Proverbs 9:9

New American Standard Bible (NASB)

9 Give instruction to a wise man and he will be still wiser,
Teach a righteous man and he will increase his learning.

The propensity of any person to learn and apply has little to do with intellectual capacity but everything to do with character.  It’s not the scoffer and the clown and the excuse maker who will get better at their jobs and wiser as they age and more skillful.  They’ll continue to be sarcastic and silly and bitter.

And so now I must think about those things in myself that disguise themselves as intelligence but have little to do with wisdom.

