Presumptuous Sin

What?  That’s right.  Presumptuous sin.  This morning, I read Psalm 19:13-14.  You can read it here.

I actually read the passage backwards starting with “Let the words of my mouth and meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O LORD, my rock and my Redeemer.”  That’s a pretty awesome statement and prayer.  I think we get that the “words of [our] mouth” should be acceptable and I have a hard enough time with this.

It’s definitely going to take an act of GOD to let the meditation of my heart be acceptable in His sight.

That wasn’t what knocked me over though.  You may or may not know this, but I take vocabulary very seriously.  English is a hard language because there are SO many nuanced words.   Compared to some languages, ours isn’t necessarily as rich in the meaning of individual words but it can be VERY concise.  It allows us to see the ingredients of a thought rather than just the finished dish.  The first verse says “Also keep back Your servant from presumptuous sins.”  Presumptuous means “failing to observe the limits of what it permitted or appropriate.”  Some synonyms are brazen, overconfident, arrogant, bold, audacious, forward, familiar, impertinent, insolent, impudent, cocky and the list goes on.  So, here’s the thing – I can be all of those things.  They’re all similar (hence…synonyms) but all with different nuance.   It’s one thing, not always good and not always bad, to be these things in the context of humanity.  It is NEVER good to be these things in the context of our relationship with our Creator.

I look at it this way.  Break the word down to its prefix and root.  “Pre” is before or prior to.  “Sumptuous” is the appearance or experience of wealth or expense.  Presumptuous then, to me, is very akin to counting your chickens before they hatch.

