Mama, Just Killed a Man

That’s not actually true.  I didn’t now, nor in the past have I, killed a man.  Really.

I did, however, fire one.

This is the first time I’ve had to fire an employee.  It wasn’t fun.  It didn’t make me feel all warm and fuzzy.

I suspect there are times when a person is fired out of anger or vindictiveness.  I’ve heard this story.  That wasn’t the case here.  I really didn’t want to fire him.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t NOT fire him.  His job was not getting done.  I couldn’t trust him to be independent in a job that required independence.

Now that I’m a few days away from it and have already written the letter to reply to his excuses (so many excuses), I still don’t feel better about it.  I do, however, feel that I acted correctly for my staff and for the library and, by extension, the community.

That’s what I care about.

