The Best Advice Ever

I stress out a lot.  If you’re around me, you may not realize that I’m stressed for a couple reasons.  First, when I get stressed, I really try to not take it out on people around me.  I try to not get angry and snippy and emotional.  I try to recognize that I’m stressed and work to alleviate whatever is causing the stress.

As you know, however, you can’t always eliminate the stress.  The second reason you may not notice when I’m stressed is that, when I can’t do anything about it, I shut down.  It’s kind of like there’s a fail safe switch.  It’s one of those things that I can actually feel coming on.  It’s the point when I can no longer handle anymore stress and so I stop doing anything.  And, I hide.  I don’t talk to people unless it’s very superficial.  I don’t go the grocery store.  I don’t go for walks.  I honestly don’t move much at all when stressed.  Maybe it’s a little bit related to depression in that there are actual physiological symptoms.  It’s interesting but also a huge pain in the ass.

So, at one point in my life, my boss gave me the best advice a human being can give another human being.  She said….just let it go.  So what if it doesn’t all get done?  So what if the bathroom isn’t clean?  So what if you didn’t have time to paint your nails?  So what if it takes an extra day?  Tomorrow will still come.  If you’re breathing, there’s another chance.  Just.  Let.  It.  Go.

And so, tonight, as I’m stressing out about Summer Reading in the library and the graduation of my eldest son (and subsequently getting him settled at college), I’m just letting it go.  Because that’s all I can do at this point.

Write something

