Classifying Life

One of the things that we talked about during a break in class was how some of us classify housework. I thought it would be interesting to use a faceted classification scheme to organization the tasks that need to get done.

A – Room

B – Surface

C – Cleaning Method

D – Cleaning Implement

E – Cleaner

1 – Kitchen

1 – Floor

1 – Clean

1 – Paper Towel

1 – No Cleaner

2 – Bathroom

2 – Window Sills

2 – Vacuum

2 – Towel

2 – Scouring Powder

3 – Bedroom 1

3 – Counter

3 – Mop

3 – Rag

3 – Disinfectant

4 – Bedroom 2

4 – Sink

4 – Scour

4 – Sponge

4 – Dish Detergent

5 – Living Room

5 – Toilet

5 – Polish

5 – Scouring Pad

5 – Pinesol

6 – Dining Room

6 – Furniture

6 – Dust

6 – Mop

6 – Multi-Surface cleaner

7 – Laundry Room

7 – Appliances

7 – Sweep

7 – Broom

7 – Toilet Bowl Cleaner

8 – Loft

8 – Curtains

 

8 – Vacuum Cleaner

8 – Furniture Polish

 

9 – Windows

   

9 – Carpet Deodorizer

 

Using this scheme, I could very easily explain what my kids need to accomplish while I’m in Indianapolis at class. For instance, I could leave a note that said A5B1C2D8E1 so that they’d know that I wanted the floor in the living room vacuumed. Of course that seems pretty easy. But I could also leave a note that says A6B8C6D8E1 letting them know that I want the curtains dusted using the vacuum cleaner. Truthfully, if I begin leaving these notes, my family may think I’ve lost my mind. Maybe more would get done just because of the novelty factor.

One thought on “Classifying Life

  1. Josh says:

    I like this. It’s like a play in a football huddle. I should use this for my kids!

Write something

